The Social Unconscious in Persons, Groups, and Societies: Volume 3: The Foundation Matrix Extended and Re-configured

Editor : Earl Hopper, Editor : Haim Weinberg

The Social Unconscious in Persons, Groups, and Societies: Volume 3: The Foundation Matrix Extended and Re-configured

Book Details

  • Publisher : Karnac Books
  • Published : August 2017
  • Cover : Paperback
  • Pages : 298
  • Category :
    Group Psychotherapy
  • Category 2 :
    Psychoanalysis
  • Catalogue No : 37511
  • ISBN 13 : 9781782203551
Paperback
$42.26
RRP : $46.95
save $4.69
In stock, despatched within 24 hours
Free delivery worldwide
Add to basket
eBook
$34.19
RRP : $46.95
save $12.76
Despatched immediately on payment
Add to basket
Paperback + eBook
$61.26
RRP : $81.14
save $19.88
In stock, despatched within 24 hours
Free delivery worldwide
Add to basket
Add to wishlist
Email

There are currently no reviews
Be the first to review

Leave a review

In this book the authors develop the theory of the tripartite matrix, consider music as a form of non-verbal communication as a sub-dimension of the matrix, and to present empirical studies of the matrices of peoples in three societies in the Middle-East. The first volume of this series addressed the group analytic theory of the social unconscious, attempting to clarify the definition of the concept itself, indicating some of its main elements, and comparing it to the Jungian collective unconscious, the Morenoian co-unconscious, and to the study of the link and the bond by Pichon-Rivière (Hopper & Weinberg, 2011). The second volume considered the socio-cultural transmission of myths, and presented several empirical studies of the foundation matrices of contemporary societies, emphasising the importance of social trauma and the continuing consequences of them (Hopper & Weinberg, 2016). The study of these three volumes will provide an appreciation of the depth and breadth of this field of enquiry, which is at the very heart of the project of Group Analysis.

Reviews and Endorsements

‘This outstanding collection of essays from clinicians and academics of international renown in the fields of group analysis, psychoanalysis, and sociology, addresses the social unconscious in depth and breadth. Especially important is the focus on theory as well as illustrations of it in reference to Europe and the Middle East.’
- Frances Griffiths, group analyst and executive coach, and chair of the Board of Trustees, Institute of Group Analysis, UK

‘A great book! A very productive international scientific team provides us with the state-of-the-art theory of the social unconscious, as well as timely illustrations of it, with special reference to peoples and societies in the Middle East. In the tradition of Norbert Elias and S.H. Foulkes, this highly civilised book is a working tool for scientists and a fascinating, informative text for students and colleagues alike.’
- Pieter Hutz, diploma sociologist, training group analyst, and chair of Deutsche Gesellschaft fu¨r Gruppenanalyse und Gruppenpsychotherapie

‘With new perspectives and further conceptualisation of the social unconscious and the foundation matrix, this volume combines in-depth theoretical discussions with empirical studies and analyses, which contribute to an enhanced understanding of the concepts and their applications – not least to the complex socio-political processes of peoples and societies in the Middle East. Well written by authors of high international standing in the field of group analysis, their contributions will be important for my colleagues in the world of group psychotherapy and the study of group processes.’
- Thor Kristian Island, MD, psychiatrist, group analyst, former director of the Institute of Group Analysis, Norway, and member of the board of the International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes

‘Once again, the scope and richness of the social unconscious is revealed. In weaving together many theoretical threads from group analysis, psychoanalysis, and sociology, the study of the matrix is indeed extended and re-configured. Essential hypotheses are illustrated. The importance of patterns of non-verbal communication is recognised. This book is essential for the formation of scholars and clinicians.’
- Carla Penna, PhD, psychoanalyst, group analyst in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and past president of the Brazilian Association of Group Psychotherapy

About the Editor(s)

Earl Hopper, PhD, is a psychoanalyst, group analyst, certified group therapist, and organisational consultant in private practice in London. A Distinguished Fellow of the American Group Psychotherapy Association, an Honorary Member of the Group Analytic Society International, and an Honorary Member of the Institute of Group Analysis, he is a supervisor and training analyst for many psychotherapy organizations in England. He is alos a former President of the International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes (IAGP), and a former Chairman of the Association of Independent Psychoanalysts of the British Psychoanalytical Society.

More titles by Earl Hopper

Haim Weinberg is a Californian and Israeli licensed psychologist and group analyst. He is Past-president of the Northern California Group Psychotherapy Society and the Israeli Association of Group Psychotherapy. He is the director of an international doctorate program in psychology with an emphasis on group psychotherapy at the Professional School of Psychology, Sacramento, California, where he serves as the academic Vice President.

More titles by Haim Weinberg

Customer Reviews

Our customers have not yet reviewed this title. Be the first add your own review for this title.

Sign up for our weekly Karnac News email   Sign up to our postal mailing list   Sign up for postal updates