Football Delirium

Author(s) : Chris Oakley

Football Delirium

Book Details

Paperback
$22.16
RRP : $24.95
save $2.79
In stock, despatched within 24 hours
Free delivery worldwide
Add to basket
Add to wishlist
Email

There are currently no reviews
Be the first to review

Leave a review

In the tradition of Adam Phillips and Darian Leader, Chris Oakley shines his spotlight on the world of football and with wit and erudition looks at the question of why there is this worldwide preoccupation with football. Does anybody have the answer? This book argues that football offers us the possibility of manageable doses of self-elected madness. A madness that is essential for a sane life. For the paradox is that this very madness is simultaneously therapeutic: football as an insistent provocation, repeatedly re-inaugurating the reverie or drift, disrupted by those moments of the most intense fracture, moments of the autistic stare.

About the Author(s)

Chris Oakley is a psychoanalyst in private practice. When not working he spends his time attending football matches all over the world.

More titles by Chris Oakley

Customer Reviews

Our customers have not yet reviewed this title. Be the first add your own review for this title.

You may also like

It's an Emotional Game: Learning about Leadership from Football

It's an Emotional Game: Learning about Leadership from Football

Lionel F. Stapley

Price $45.96

save $6.99

The New Klein-Lacan Dialogues

The New Klein-Lacan Dialogues

Julia Borossa

Price $38.31

save $5.64

Are You Considering Therapy?

Are You Considering Therapy?

Anouchka Grose

Price $15.36

save $1.59

Sign up for our weekly Karnac News email   Sign up to our postal mailing list   Sign up for postal updates