Drug Dreams: Clinical and Research Implications of Dreams about Drugs in Drug-addicted Patients

Author(s) : Claudio Colace

Drug Dreams: Clinical and Research Implications of Dreams about Drugs in Drug-addicted Patients

Book Details

  • Publisher : Karnac Books
  • Published : February 2014
  • Cover : Paperback
  • Pages : 160
  • Category :
    Clinical Psychology
  • Category 2 :
    Addictions
  • Catalogue No : 33496
  • ISBN 13 : 9781780491523
  • ISBN 10 : 1780491522

Also by Claudio Colace

Paperback
$25.16
RRP : $27.95
save $2.79
In stock, despatched within 24 hours
Free delivery worldwide
Add to basket
eBook
$27.89
RRP : $27.95
save $0.06
Despatched immediately on payment
Add to basket
Paperback + eBook
$40.66
RRP : $55.84
save $15.18
In stock, despatched within 24 hours
Free delivery worldwide
Add to basket
Add to wishlist
Email

There are currently no reviews
Be the first to review

Leave a review

"Drug dreams", or the dreams in which drug-dependent patients use or attempt to use the drugs that they are addicted to, are a well-documented clinical phenomenon in various forms of drug addiction. Authors have highlighted their clinical, prognostic and therapeutic usefulness, since they provide information about the patients’ “drug craving”, their ability to cope with it, and their motivation to stay clean and sober. However, the study of drug dreams also reveals several implications and inspiration for general dream research and theory, especially with respect to the recent neuropsychology of dreaming, the emotional adaptive theories of dream, and the classical Freudian theory of dreams.

This book is aimed at providing a systematic and comprehensive discussion on drug dreams by considering the various perspectives involved (such as therapy in drug addiction, the neurobiology of drug craving, affective neuroscience, dream research) and, ideally, at suggesting future clinical applications for therapists (counsellors, psychoytherapists, clinicians) in charge of treating drug-addicted patients, as well as providing input for dream researchers. The book draws from the author’s clinical and research experience on drug dreams among heroin-addicted patients, as well as from the scientific literature in this field. The book is composed of three parts: the phenomenology of drug dreams, their clinical and therapeutic aspects, and their implications for the dream research and theory.

Reviews and Endorsements

‘Claudio Colace has a special talent for re-discovering basic facts about dreaming while simultaneously placing them on a more solid empirical footing. This book does for the dreams of drug addicts what his previous book did for the dreams of children. The deep structure of normal dreaming is revealed through a careful study of pathological examples. This is a classical study in the tradition of Charcot and Freud.’
— Mark Solms, Department of Psychology, University of Cape Town, South Africa

‘Claudio Colace’s book provides an authoritative overview and synthesis of contemporary dream research and neuroscientific evidence relevant for evaluating Freudian dream theory. The book both clarifies important facets of Freudian dream theory and demonstrates that drug dreams provide an exciting theoretical and empirical platform for the study of the motivational bases of dreams. An extremely important resource for anyone interested in evaluating Freudian dream theory in the twenty-first century.’
— Simon Boag, Department of Psychology, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia

About the Author(s)

Claudio Colace is executive Psychologist at the Operational Unit of Psychology of the National Health Service in Italy, where he works in the Outpatient Psychology Department and in the Centre for Drug Addictions at Civita Castellana. He obtained a MD in Psychology at the University of Rome and a PhD in Psychology at the University of Bologna, Italy. After training in sleep research at the Sleep Laboratory of the University of Rome (“La Sapienza”), he carried out empirical studies on children’s dreams, dream bizarreness, and on dreaming in states of addiction. He has been a member of the Italian Society of Sleep Research from 1997 to 2009 and is currently a member of the International Neuropsychoanalysis Society. He is the author of scientific contributions published in The American Journal on Addictions, Neuropsychoanalysis, Alcohol and Drug Review, Sleep and Hypnosis, Sleep, and Sleep Research. He has recently published Children’s Dreams: From Freud's Observations to Modern Dream Research.

More titles by Claudio Colace

Customer Reviews

Our customers have not yet reviewed this title. Be the first add your own review for this title.

You may also like

Addictive States of Mind

Addictive States of Mind

Marion Bower

Price $41.36

save $4.59

Sign up for our weekly Karnac News email   Sign up to our postal mailing list   Sign up for postal updates