The Social Unconscious in Persons, Groups, and Societies: Volume 3: The Foundation Matrix Extended and Re-configured

Editor : Earl Hopper, Editor : Haim Weinberg

The Social Unconscious in Persons, Groups, and Societies: Volume 3: The Foundation Matrix Extended and Re-configured

Book Details

  • Publisher : Karnac Books
  • Published : 2017
  • Cover : Paperback
  • Pages : 298
  • Category :
    Group Psychotherapy
  • Category 2 :
    Psychoanalysis
  • Catalogue No : 37511
  • ISBN 13 : 9781782203551

Reviews and Endorsements

‘This outstanding collection of essays from clinicians and academics of international renown in the fields of group analysis, psychoanalysis, and sociology, addresses the social unconscious in depth and breadth. Especially important is the focus on theory as well as illustrations of it in reference to Europe and the Middle East.’
- Frances Griffiths, group analyst and executive coach, and chair of the Board of Trustees, Institute of Group Analysis, UK

‘A great book! A very productive international scientific team provides us with the state-of-the-art theory of the social unconscious, as well as timely illustrations of it, with special reference to peoples and societies in the Middle East. In the tradition of Norbert Elias and S.H. Foulkes, this highly civilised book is a working tool for scientists and a fascinating, informative text for students and colleagues alike.’
- Pieter Hutz, diploma sociologist, training group analyst, and chair of Deutsche Gesellschaft fu¨r Gruppenanalyse und Gruppenpsychotherapie

‘With new perspectives and further conceptualisation of the social unconscious and the foundation matrix, this volume combines in-depth theoretical discussions with empirical studies and analyses, which contribute to an enhanced understanding of the concepts and their applications – not least to the complex socio-political processes of peoples and societies in the Middle East. Well written by authors of high international standing in the field of group analysis, their contributions will be important for my colleagues in the world of group psychotherapy and the study of group processes.’
- Thor Kristian Island, MD, psychiatrist, group analyst, former director of the Institute of Group Analysis, Norway, and member of the board of the International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes

‘Once again, the scope and richness of the social unconscious is revealed. In weaving together many theoretical threads from group analysis, psychoanalysis, and sociology, the study of the matrix is indeed extended and re-configured. Essential hypotheses are illustrated. The importance of patterns of non-verbal communication is recognised. This book is essential for the formation of scholars and clinicians.’
- Carla Penna, PhD, psychoanalyst, group analyst in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and past president of the Brazilian Association of Group Psychotherapy

Sign up for our weekly Karnac News email   Sign up to our postal mailing list   Sign up for postal updates